Christmas Brisket

All BBQ smoked Low-N-Slow OR Hot-N-Fast goes here.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

SDCanuck
Pilgrim

Christmas Brisket

Postby SDCanuck » Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:09 pm

Hi all,

I'm planning to smoke a brisket for Christmas. I have some limited experience smoking other meats (last year I did a turkey), but this is my first time smoking brisket. My smoker is 16" in diameter, with 2 grilling racks and a tray for water on the bottom. Because of the limited grilling size, I'm thinking of separating the point and the flat before putting them in the smoker. From what I've read here and other forums, I'm planning to smoke at about 225 until the internal temp reaches 165, and then wrap in foil and return to smoker until temp is 198 or 200. I'll finish it by wrapping in towels and placing in a dry cooler for an hour or 2.

Any advice from the wisdom of this group would be greatly appreciated. Is separating point and flat a good strategy? Which piece should I put on the top rack? I assume that I calculate the cooking time at 1 to 1.5 hrs per lb based on the weight of each piece?

Thanks in advance!
Bull Brahma 5 burner NG grill
16" Grill Pro bullet smoker
limey USER_AVATAR
limey
Deputy

Re: Christmas Brisket

Postby limey » Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:05 pm

I would try to leave it whole. maybe have the point facing toward the fire source. Flats tend to dry out sometimes. Put some beef broth in your foil and cook till probe tender. That means poking towards the point with a meat probe, when the probe goes in like butter it time to pull and rest. Good luck on your cook, and Merry Christmas. :santa:
How bout some more beans Mr.Taggert? I'd say you've had enough!
R & O Custom Trailer
Weber 22.5 Gold
Weber 22.5 Smoky Mountain
Oklahoma Joe Longhorn Edition
Limey BBQ Co. Competition Team
egghead USER_AVATAR
egghead
Egg Master

Postby egghead » Fri Dec 22, 2017 7:06 am