Destroyed my brisket

All BBQ smoked Low-N-Slow OR Hot-N-Fast goes here.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

Robr
Pilgrim

Destroyed my brisket

Postby Robr » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:06 pm

I've read a ton before attempting my first brisket. I'm a noob and picked up a cheap electric smoker from lowes to see if it was something I'd use a lot before investing in a quality unit.

I'm in the Boston area, reasonably priced brisket is hard to come by and only two people in my house eat meat so buying a full packer makes no sense. I'm working with a 5lb flat.

I seasoned and put it in the smoker at 225 using hickory. Using two thermometers, when it reached 160 where it seemed to stall (about 4.5 hours), I wrapped it on foil until it got to 190 (another 1:45 or so). I then let it rest wrapped in foil in a cooler for an hour.

What I got was shoe leather. The smoke flavor was great, it wasn't dried out, just tough. I though maybe I didn't give it enough time at 190 for the collagen to break down so rewrapped in foil and put it in the toaster oven at 225 bringing it back up to 190 and held it at 190 for 2 hours. My shoe leather turned into a dried out brick.

Any ideas where I went wrong?

I double checked instructions I found about only cooking the flat and I don't know where I went wrong.
Last edited by Robr on Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
limey USER_AVATAR
limey
Deputy

Re: Destroyed by brisket

Postby limey » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:31 pm

You did not cook your brisket long enough, 200 to 210 when it passes the prob test. Happens to a lot of folks.
How bout some more beans Mr.Taggert? I'd say you've had enough!
R & O Custom Trailer
Weber 22.5 Gold
Weber 22.5 Smoky Mountain
Oklahoma Joe Longhorn Edition
Limey BBQ Co. Competition Team
flht01
Pilgrim

Postby flht01 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:43 pm

Agree, pulled it too soon.