*UPDATED*Help needed on old lyfe time pit

All BBQ smoked Low-N-Slow OR Hot-N-Fast goes here.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

Phat_Meats
Pilgrim

*UPDATED*Help needed on old lyfe time pit

Postby Phat_Meats » Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:39 pm

I am looking to restore this pit and this is my first attempt at it. I just starting sanding the pit down with 80 grit on most outer areas. As far as the inside of the firebox the rust is pretty rough. What do you guys recommend? Thanks!
Attachments
20181129_113615.jpg
20181129_113622.jpg
20181129_113559.jpg
20181129_113547.jpg
20181129_113635.jpg
Last edited by Phat_Meats on Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Lyfe Tyme single lid barrel smoker
GMG Daniel Boone pellet smoker
22 inch red Weber Kettle.
rambo USER_AVATAR
Rambo
Deputy

Re: Help needed on old life time pit

Postby Rambo » Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:51 pm

I have a LyfeTime, tremendous cookers. If you can afford it, just take it and have it sandblasted and painted. That's what I did when I bought mine second hand and it's lasted for over 15 years. I used the Sherwin Williams high heat paint but there is probably a newer, Better paint now, I don't know. It will take you time to learn how to cook on this pit but once you master it you'll be quite pleased. Go buy yourself some wood, they EAT wood. I start mine with one chimney of charcoal and roll straight wood after that.
Markw142
Cowboy

Postby Markw142 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:00 pm