Brine a brisket

All BBQ smoked Low-N-Slow OR Hot-N-Fast goes here.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

wayne USER_AVATAR
wayne
Wrangler

Brine a brisket

Postby wayne » Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:25 pm

Hello all, newbie here. A simple Q here that maybe someone can help me out on. I have been researching brinig a brisket. There is some infor, but far and few in between. I know this is something this not a big thing, but I want to give it a try. Any suggestion? Here is my plan;

1 Gal Water
1 Cup Kosher Salt
1 Cup Brown Sugar
1/2 Cup Apple vinegar
1/4 Cup Molasses
1/4 Cup Worcestershire
2 TBS Black Pepper

Have any of you brined a brisket, know of anyone who has, and/or direct me to a good site or information regarding this subject? thanks in advance.
Wayne
I am no competitor, but am pursuing the "WOW that has to be the best BBQ Ribs, Brisket, or Chicken I have tasted" results. And, I love to smoke on my grill, Traegar Lil Tex. http://www.traegergrills.com
datsbbq USER_AVATAR
DATsBBQ
Deputy

Re: Brine a brisket

Postby DATsBBQ » Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:35 pm

Welcome to the forum 1st off.

Never brined a brisket before. A brine is mostly salt and water. Briskets usually have enough fat built in to keep them moist.

Now I have heard about injecting briskets with some super secret solution of liquid and spices, designed to enhance the flavor profile. Add a cure and you have a pickle.

I'm thinking, and its just my opinion, but what you have in mind would be better used in a big hunk of pork.

I'm sure others with more experience toying with briskets will comment. I usually just rub 'em.
Deputy Dave

“A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer."-Bruce Lee
wayne USER_AVATAR
wayne
Wrangler

Postby wayne » Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:41 pm