What's wrong with the beef?

Everything Grilled. We LOVE pictures.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

alfer
Pilgrim

What's wrong with the beef?

Postby alfer » Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:58 pm

I live on the Jersey Shore. I can't find a restaurant; even a good steakhouse that can sear a Ribeye, and grill it to Medium Rare to save their life! Neither can I get a good steak to sear and turn out Medium Rare on my own grille anymore. I'm through thinking I'M doing something wrong! I bought 4 bone-in NY Strips with beautiful marbling (PRIME,) dropped 'em to room temperature, seasoned 'em, then brought my grille up to 700-800 degrees, and put 'me on to sear... they refused to sear!!! There were slight sear lines, but I had to turn them over before they over cooked before they got crusty! There's SOMETHING in the beef nowadays that makes it act weird! I've been grilling since I was nine years old, I'm now 63! Can anyone add some light on this issue?
woodenvisions USER_AVATAR
woodenvisions
Chuck Wagon

Re: RE: What's wrong with the beef?

Postby woodenvisions » Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:53 pm

alfer wrote:I live on the Jersey Shore. I can't find a restaurant; even a good steakhouse that can sear a Ribeye, and grill it to Medium Rare to save their life! Neither can I get a good steak to sear and turn out Medium Rare on my own grille anymore. I'm through thinking I'M doing something wrong! I bought 4 bone-in NY Strips with beautiful marbling (PRIME,) dropped 'em to room temperature, seasoned 'em, then brought my grille up to 700-800 degrees, and put 'me on to sear... they refused to sear!!! There were slight sear lines, but I had to turn them over before they over cooked before they got crusty! There's SOMETHING in the beef nowadays that makes it act weird! I've been grilling since I was nine years old, I'm now 63! Can anyone add some light on this issue?
Alfer,

I wish I could give you the answer regarding this ?