IBCA Judges Expectations

All other competition related questions or comments about recipes, techniques, and related topics.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

ringer1
Pilgrim

IBCA Judges Expectations

Postby ringer1 » Sun Oct 02, 2016 6:32 pm

I was raised by the saying 'you won't know an answer to your question if you don't ask'.

My family and I have been competing in IBCA events for the past two years. We have been doing a little better lately but notice the same teams seem to get walks at every event. These teams obviously are great cooks and know what the small details that put them at the top.

So with that said, what is some advice that you guys are willing provide that could help us in our journey. Things like

What a winning box should look like?

Do you turn in point meat or always from the flat?

Do you utilize the 10 minute window to turn in your box?

I look forward to your responses.

Thanks

Jeff
finatic USER_AVATAR
Finatic
Bandolero

Re: IBCA Judges Expectations

Postby Finatic » Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:14 am

Jeff. Most of the time the same teams win because they can cook. While there are always going to be bad apples most events are judged fairly.

This is what I have learned through cooking and judging in IBCA and LSBS comps:

As far as your box goes, there's not a lot you can do other than make sure your slices (for brisket and ribs) are uniform. Most folks eat with their eyes. If it doesn't look good and the flavor is average that entry will likely get a low score. If it looks amazing (has great color) and has average flavor that entry will likely get a higher score. IMO appearance matters. I'm not saying it's more important than flavor, tenderness or being juicy but don't overlook the appearance of your entry.