Vertical Air Tank Build

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

drjekyll USER_AVATAR
DrJekyll
Pilgrim

Vertical Air Tank Build

Postby DrJekyll » Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:54 am

There are a lot of firsts in this build. I am new to smoking (been using my weber 22.5 kettle for the past couple of months), this is my first smoker build, and my first time welding (borrowed my father in-law's hobart 140 and teaching myself from youtube vids). I was planning to get a drum and do a basic UDS build, when my dad suggested I use his old non-working 60 gal air compressor for my project. I am trying to keep it simple to build and simple to use. So I decided to keep it vertical and model it after a UDS, but with a door instead of a lid. The tank is approximately 48" tall by 19.5" in diameter.

Here are a couple of pics of what I started with:

Compressor Tank Before.jpg

Compressor Tank Before 2.jpg