So 3/16" 1/4" or 3/8" Fire box?

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

circle j fire pits USER_AVATAR
Circle J Fire Pits
Pilgrim

So 3/16" 1/4" or 3/8" Fire box?

Postby Circle J Fire Pits » Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:59 pm

Fire box thickness - I guess one of the most often asked questions. What are your thoughts, and why. I know 1/4" is thicker, but why is there a stigma on anything that is thinner. How many of you have actually burned through your box? I want to know....
Thanks in advance
Wow! he didn't see that coming.
oldusedparts USER_AVATAR
OldUsedParts
Deputy

Re: So 3/16" 1/4" or 3/8" Fire box?

Postby OldUsedParts » Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:25 pm

Just a novice here but I wouldn't think that advantage wouldn't be anti-burn through as much as it's heat holding capabilities :dont:
I am determined to sustain myself as long as possible & die like a soldier who never forgets what is due to his own honor & that of his country—Victory or Death. William Barret Travis - Lt. Col. comdt "The Alamo"
mule rider USER_AVATAR
Mule rider
Rustler

Postby Mule rider » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:26 pm

Thinner seems to warp more. and doesn't hold the heat as well.
Circle J Fire Pits
Pilgrim

Postby Circle J Fire Pits » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:26 pm

That's a good thought. Where do you generally see the warping on the Fire Box? Is it on the sides, bottom, or where?
limey USER_AVATAR
limey
Deputy

Postby limey » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:04 pm

Thicker the better, most of the comp. trailer builds are insulated for maintaining temp and fuel consumption.
How bout some more beans Mr.Taggert? I'd say you've had enough!
R & O Custom Trailer
Weber 22.5 Gold
Weber 22.5 Smoky Mountain
Oklahoma Joe Longhorn Edition
Limey BBQ Co. Competition Team
mule rider USER_AVATAR
Mule rider
Rustler

Postby Mule rider » Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:21 pm

When you cut your door out the thinner metal has more potential to warp. Thus making it hard to seal.
rambo USER_AVATAR
Rambo