mak grill

Traegers, Green Mountain, Smokin Tex and all other Pellet and Wood Chip Smokers

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

killerq
Pilgrim

mak grill

Postby killerq » Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:42 pm

Anyone on this forum have or ever used a Mak Grill pellet smoker? if so what are your thoughts.
papa tom USER_AVATAR
Papa Tom
Deputy

Re: mak grill

Postby Papa Tom » Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:11 pm

Welcome to the forum KQ glad ta have ya.
I have never used a MAK so I can't comment on the brand but I have been using a pellet cooker for 15 years and as one might guess either I am a glutton for punishment or I am quite pleased.
(ANS: it's pleased ).
tarde venientibus ossa....
rambo USER_AVATAR
Rambo
Deputy

Postby Rambo » Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:17 am

Which one do you like Tom and why? I have a Big Lyfetime with the 52" tall vertical. I cook on straight wood and get the prettiest smoke rings , flavor is great but it is a wood eating son of a gun and I have to really stay on top of it to control temps. I still go up and down from 350-225 quite frequently during a cook but I have learned how to work it.

I've often wondered if one of these would make my life easier but I'm scared i'll lose my smoke rinf and taste.
papa tom USER_AVATAR
Papa Tom
Deputy

Postby Papa Tom » Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:13 pm

Rambo wrote:Which one do you like Tom and why? I have a Big Lyfetime with the 52" tall vertical. I cook on straight wood and get the prettiest smoke rings , flavor is great but it is a wood eating son of a gun and I have to really stay on top of it to control temps. I still go up and down from 350-225 quite frequently during a cook but I have learned how to work it.

I've often wondered if one of these would make my life easier but I'm scared i'll lose my smoke rinf and taste.

To answer you let me fill in some blanks. During the time I owned the pellet cooker I have owned several stick burners from small to very large and expensive, they're gone pellet cooker still here.