Pellet controller upgrade

Traegers, Green Mountain, Smokin Tex and all other Pellet and Wood Chip Smokers

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

tims USER_AVATAR
TimS
Pilgrim

Pellet controller upgrade

Postby TimS » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:25 pm

I have a SmokeDaddy pellet feeder that is over 6 years old and the electronic controls were not giving me the level of control customization I was needing (I'm a nerdy engineer). So instead of purchasing their new drop-in controller (which looks pretty well built) I decided to use an industrial PID auto tuning controller from Omega. During this upgrade I also took the time to service all the bearings in the motors.

Controller: https://www.omega.com/pptst/CN142.html
Relay: https://www.omega.com/pptst/SSRL240_660.html

Here is the original controller.

Here is the new controller installed. I had to slightly widen the hole for the new controller. I designed the panel and printed on my 3D printer to hold the controller, a K-type connector and the power entry module.

Connections were straightforward:
1. AC power comes in through the fuse-protected module and the hot lead branches from the fuse to the controller, fan and solid state relay.
2. At the controller I connect the alarm relay common to the AC power and the hot rod igniter to the alarm relay N.O.
3. The controller connects to the K-type connector for sensing smoker chamber temp, and to the low voltage trigger of the solid state relay.
4. The SSR output connects to the pellet feeder motor. This SSR is zero-switching which means after the trigger signal is received from the controller it waits until the AC power waveform reaches zero before switching on. This eliminates surge noise in my home's electrical system and increases the lifespan of the auger motor.
5. All the neutrals tie together
6. The ground from the power input module is connected solidly to the metal frame for safety. ALWAYS use a grounded service.