Water Pans?

Traegers, Green Mountain, Smokin Tex and all other Pellet and Wood Chip Smokers

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

Raider18
Cowboy

Water Pans?

Postby Raider18 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:15 am

I’m a UDS guy swimming in the pellet pool, so far I like the ease, but have questions. Are water pans good or bad? Smoke tube or smoke feature for a few hours? Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
oldusedparts USER_AVATAR
OldUsedParts
Deputy

Re: Water Pans?

Postby OldUsedParts » Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:34 am

hey Raider, I'm still a Pellet Newbie after two years HOWEVER, I can never see me using a water pan in my Pit Boss for any reason - - - maybe some others will offer up some actual experience with a water pan and pellet pooper :salut:
I am determined to sustain myself as long as possible & die like a soldier who never forgets what is due to his own honor & that of his country—Victory or Death. William Barret Travis - Lt. Col. comdt "The Alamo"
spacetrucker USER_AVATAR
spacetrucker
Chuck Wagon

Postby spacetrucker » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:24 am

I have used the smoke tube, the ones you fill with pellets then light with a torch, and let smolder, also used the, I think its called amazing rib smoker, the one that burns a trail of sawdust, each one does seem to impart a slightly elevated smoke profile in the finished product, however to me, not enough to mess with the gadgets. Just my $.02... every one has a different taste preference and perception
never monkeyed around with a water pan in a pellet cooker, i read where lots of folks like to use them
Don't count every day, Make every day Count
Good Cue to ya..
Vernon

FEC-100
Webber kettle 22"
Webber genesis
Blackstone pizza oven
bondobill
Outlaw

Postby bondobill » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:20 am

I use a water pan in my 680 when I do brisket.
I built a upr rack for my RecTec. I place brisket on top rack with a pan of water on the bottom rack. Does water pan help. :dont: