Question for you pellet guys

Traegers, Green Mountain, Smokin Tex and all other Pellet and Wood Chip Smokers

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

bsooner75 USER_AVATAR
bsooner75
High Plains Smoker

Question for you pellet guys

Postby bsooner75 » Fri May 18, 2018 7:29 am

I need some input. I’ve got zero knowledge when it comes to pellet poopers and really no interest because I like tinkering with the fire. Plus my cabinet lets me tinker with fire a little and get long periods of steady temps to get things done.

Anyway, I’ve been asked many times to recommend a pellet pooper and I’ve got nuthin’. Most recently is a friend looking to buy one as a gift. Budget is $400 - $500. The person receiving the gift has zero bbq experience but wants to get into it.

Personally I recommended a Pit Barrel cooker or a Woody UDS. I feel like these will be easy to maintain temps and learn how to monitor a fire before moving to pellets of still interested…similar to learning to drive a standard before an automatic.

What are you guys thoughts on a pooper as a first smoker? Also, what would you recommend in that price range? Thanks for sharing your smarts!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tx1911 USER_AVATAR
TX1911
Deputy

Re: Question for you pellet guys

Postby TX1911 » Fri May 18, 2018 8:15 am

It depends on your friend, quite honestly. Are they the kind who is willing to suffer some poor bbq while they learn an offset or a cabinet cooker? Or do they want to get it right (or close thereto) the first time?

I think a pellet pooper is a good first pit, but it would create the possibility of never branching out beyond that.

I think that Pit Boss has one in that price range, and I know Camp Chef does, because I got one and I love it.
Custom 24x48 offset trailer pit
Weber Smokefire EX6
Vision B Series kamado
Race Crew Drum
bondobill
Outlaw

Postby bondobill » Fri May 18, 2018 8:48 am

Camp Chef.
My brother and a close friend of mine each bought one within the last year. They both love them.