Pet food recall

The weather, news and topics not related to BBQ.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

copkid USER_AVATAR
copkid
Chuck Wagon

Pet food recall

Postby copkid » Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:35 am

Have any of you had any problems with the pet food recalls? I think a problem like this has been a long time coming. I'm sure the industry isn't regulated and watched that well, although I'm far from an expert. Luckily, we've always used dry food for our pets, although I read that the recall may extend to some dry brands. It just makes me sick that so many pets are ill and or dying from this problem. :cry:
Laura
Laura

In Valor, There is Hope
-Tacitus

Lord, Keep your arm around my shoulders, and your hand over my mouth!
nascarchuck USER_AVATAR
nascarchuck
Retired Lawman

Postby nascarchuck » Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:47 am

Well, you know how we are dog lovers in my household so I really hate seeing whats happening.

From what I understand, this is just the canned and "foiled pouch" foods. We don't use those. Our dogs like dry food.

Whats weird is we used to buy Bentiful wich I would consider a little more expensive than a middle of the road food @ $20 for a 40 something pound bag at Sams. We ran out one day and had to buy the cheap stuff. I bought a 50 lb bag for $11 at Sams and they love it. You can mix Bentiful with this cheap stuff and they will pick through it to get the cheap stuff. Guess what we buy now! :wink:

I noticed yesterday at WalMart that they have expanded the recall to some other dog foods. Alpo and Mighty Dog are two of the brands.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid= ... refer=news
Chuck

http://cookinwithchuck.blogspot.com - Updated 01/10/10

mel USER_AVATAR
mel
Bandolero

Postby mel » Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:13 pm