Dale Bakers in Austin

Rate the joints and share your experiences, pictures encouraged

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

mlmurrah USER_AVATAR
mlmurrah
Pilgrim

Dale Bakers in Austin

Postby mlmurrah » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:01 pm

Wonder if anyone remembers Dale Baker's in Austin? I used to go there when I was a student at the University of Texas in the late 1960s. Dale has gone to barbecue heaven, and the place is long gone, but I can still taste the mustard based sauce. I used to keep my two slices of bread until everything else was gone and sop the sauce with it.

I'd love to have a recipe for the sauce. Can anyone help?
Rec Tec RT-700
Weber Smokey Mountain
Huntsville, TX
ftby00 USER_AVATAR
Ftby00
Cowboy

Re: Dale Bakers in Austin

Postby Ftby00 » Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:56 pm

I don't know anything about that place. Famous Daves has an awesome mustard base sauce that is about all that was good there. Oh the corn bread muffins were pretty good too.
Here's Smoke In Your Eyes!!!

Oklahoma Joes
Custom Smoker Trailer
Brinkman Gasser

Shawn
bdbaker
Pilgrim

Postby bdbaker » Sun Sep 13, 2020 10:43 am

Hi! I am Billy Dale Baker. I'm Dale baker's youngest son. Just so you know I'm legit we were located at 3003 Lake Austin Blvd. We opened Nov. 1, 1952 and shut down Oct. 31, 1975. If you give me contact information I would be honored to give you the recipe. I really don't want to share it in an open forum. If you want it you'll be one of only 3 people living that has it, the other being my sister.
rambo USER_AVATAR
Rambo
Deputy

Postby Rambo » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:27 am

We have a private message system here. Anyone interested can send Mr. Baker a PM. Thanks for the offer Sir and welcome to the Forum
mlmurrah USER_AVATAR
mlmurrah
Pilgrim

Postby mlmurrah » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:37 pm