Could need some Brisket advice, please

All BBQ smoked Low-N-Slow OR Hot-N-Fast goes here.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

norway joe USER_AVATAR
Norway Joe
Chuck Wagon

Could need some Brisket advice, please

Postby Norway Joe » Thu Dec 16, 2021 4:30 pm

I'm planning on smoking a brisket on Saturday. It's not very big. 5.2 lbs.

I have very little experience with brisket. I'm planning to smoke on 225.

I think smoking until IT 165 and then wrap before continuing.

How long can I expect this to take?

Should I spritz during the first period. E.g. with apple juice?

Anything else I should think of?

Appreciate your great advices.

Sent fra min SM-G988B via Tapatalk
Instagram: Norway_joe1
k.a.m. USER_AVATAR
k.a.m.
Chuck Wagon

Re: Could need some Brisket advice, please

Postby k.a.m. » Thu Dec 16, 2021 4:43 pm

In my experience cooking briskets at or around 225° yields a dry product Joe. At 5.2 lbs. it sounds like you are cooking a flat I would cook it fat cap down running the cooker at around 275° to 300° until it hits 165° internal. Then I would pan it with about 8 oz. of beef broth and foil cover. Bring the flat to an internal temp of 205° / 210° looking for probe tender.
Once you reach probe tender take the brisket off the cooker still covered for about 1 hour then uncover and let rest another 45 min to an hour to reset the bark. Remove from the pan and slice.
I never spritz my briskets.
Six to eight hours including the rest cooking at those temps. Remember if it finishes early it can rest longer. In my opinion a quality finished brisket is all about the rest.
I hope this helps. :D
A side note a brisket that size will usually fit in an aluminum turkey pan when ready to pan. If you foil wrap place a small cookie tray under the brisket so the foil doesn't rip.
Last edited by k.a.m. on Thu Dec 16, 2021 4:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Always remember slow and steady wins the race.

My Hybrid cooker.
Competition trailer #2.
papa tom USER_AVATAR
Papa Tom
Deputy