Offset Smokers

Any type of purchased BBQ Pit.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

creosote USER_AVATAR
Creosote
Pilgrim

Offset Smokers

Postby Creosote » Sat Dec 04, 2021 10:25 am

I am a newbie and plan on doing a lot of smoking since I have retired and live in the Pittsburg Tx area and plan on cooking with red and white oak mainly. I am looking at the $1,000 to $2,000 price range and will only be cooking maybe 2 briskets at a time or a brisket and a couple of boston butts so it doesn't have to be extremely large. I do want the firebox to double as a grill and want a good, heavy-duty smoker. I am looking at the Horizon 20" Classic Icon ($1700.00) and having the convection plate added as an accessory. Guess I am looking for feelers on what folks think of this smoker and any comments pro or con will be muchly appreciated and/or suggestions to a comparable or better stick burner. I also have the thermoworks Smoke for internal probes while cooking and just wonder if Horizon would modify the probe port to fit a larger diameter size if anyone knows, but I figure I will have to call them. Said I was a newbie, but used a smoker years and years ago.
k.a.m. USER_AVATAR
k.a.m.
Chuck Wagon

Re: Offset Smokers

Postby k.a.m. » Mon Dec 06, 2021 12:41 pm

They are nice cookers and work well once you are used to the fire management side of it. Personally I prefer a minimum size of 24" x 48" for a back yard cooker. 20" cookers just do not have enough real estate for me.
Always remember slow and steady wins the race.

My Hybrid cooker.
Competition trailer #2.
1moreford USER_AVATAR
1MoreFord
Rustler

Postby 1MoreFord » Wed Dec 08, 2021 2:35 am

Since k.a.m. mentioned 24" cookers I'll add they are usually easier to cook on than smaller diameter cookers.
Joe

Falcon MKV Gas Grill w/Grill Grates, OK Joe Longhorn now gone, CharGriller Akorn, Camp Chef 24SG, and Weber 22" OTG
k.a.m. USER_AVATAR
k.a.m.
Chuck Wagon

Postby k.a.m. » Wed Dec 08, 2021 8:08 am