Rec Tec Brisket

Traegers, Green Mountain, Smokin Tex and all other Pellet and Wood Chip Smokers

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

tpack
Pilgrim

Rec Tec Brisket

Postby tpack » Tue Jun 16, 2020 4:52 pm

This was my first attempt at cooking a brisket on my Rec Tec pellet smoker. I had my concerns about the amount of smoke flavor it would have since I had been using an offset smoker for over 30 years. I am happy to say that the smoke flavor of this brisket was great and it was as tender as any brisket I ever cooked or tasted. I made burnt ends and chopped BBQ out of the point and they were also great . Enjoy!!

I cooked a Prime brisket Saturday on my Rec Tec that was about 8.5 lbs. after trimming and cooked @180 degrees(extreme smoke) for 8 hours untill it hit the stall at 155 internal degrees. I wrapped and put it in the oven inside the house @210 degrees and after 4 more hours the point was 205 internal degrees and the Thermapen went in like butter.. I wrapped in a towel and placed inside a cooler for 4 hours. It turned out great. Total cook time was 12 hours or about 1.5 hours per lb.

[/quote]
mlmurrah USER_AVATAR
mlmurrah
Pilgrim

Re: Rec Tec Brisket

Postby mlmurrah » Tue Jun 16, 2020 9:26 pm

Got an ST-700 coming. Hope my first brisket turns out as well as yours. Your comment on smoke flavor is comforting. That has always been one of my doubts about pellet smokers.
Rec Tec RT-700
Weber Smokey Mountain
Huntsville, TX
rambo USER_AVATAR
Rambo
Deputy

Postby Rambo » Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:24 pm

:cheers:
astrohip USER_AVATAR
astrohip
Wrangler

Postby astrohip » Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:12 am

tpack wrote:This was my first attempt at cooking a brisket on my Rec Tec pellet smoker. I had my concerns about the amount of smoke flavor it would have since I had been using an offset smoker for over 30 years.

Beautiful looking brisket. Makes me wanna fire up the smoker now!