Drills

UDS Plans, Projects and discussions concerning Ugly Drum Smokers.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

twoguysbbq USER_AVATAR
TwoGuysBBQ
Outlaw

Re: Drills

Postby TwoGuysBBQ » Tue Dec 25, 2018 1:40 pm

interesting topic, I'm no expert my any means however I am interested in your findings. Hopefully someone on here can help.
mule rider USER_AVATAR
Mule rider
Rustler

Postby Mule rider » Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:21 pm

I live in a small community in the Northwest and we don't have the larger hardware stores that most bigger cities have. I buy either Dewalt or Ace brand drills. I have bought some cheap drill from Harbor Freight and they are a very poor drills, of course you get what you pay for. As far as using cobalt or titanium bits only if I an drilling something harder than mild steel. So i get my drills from Ace Hardware. 8)
woodenvisions USER_AVATAR
woodenvisions
Chuck Wagon

Postby woodenvisions » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:17 pm

I'm a big Irwin fan myself, especially for Bi Metal. For wood I'm partial to WoodRiver for Forstner Bits.
Not sure if I helped, but those are my choices.

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
dwilliams35
Pilgrim

Postby dwilliams35 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:22 am

Well, I buy all the drill bits for a sizable machine shop: the stuff available through our suppliers positively leaves the commercial offerings in the dust. There’s a bunch of quite expensive drills we occasionally get for super-hardened stuff and nickel alloys, but up into chrome-moly carbon steel and such, there’s some reasonably priced brands that will translate into a very good drill bit for home-shop use. Tops in that category that I get very regularly is YG1, available in lots of places ( ive even seen them on eBay) and stuff by Titan USA up in Maryland or somewhere up there.. I don’t know that I’ve ever physically seen an actual titan-branded drill, but they make “house brand” drills for a LOT of vendors, including some on the Internet..

As far as the coatings/etc...from worst to first: